Having a great time, wish I were there!

I’ve never been on a business trip. But that’s not to say I don’t have an opinion on them. (There’s a lot of stuff I’ve never seen, done or really know anything about that I still hold a remarkably strong point of view on, especially after a glass or two of wine.)

But I do feel a little more qualified to talk about business trips than, say, who will make it to the Heineken Cup semis or whether scientists should bring the gastric brooding frog back from extinction.

That’s because Luc has been on business trips. Many of them. And when he goes on a business trip it’s a big deal because it’s:

  1. all about me, and
  2. all about me.

The majority of his trips took place when the boy was still a baby. A small baby. A waking up at all hours of the night baby. A crying, demanding, can’t decide whether I prefer the boob or the bottle but what does it matter because I’m just going to spew it all over everything within a 12-foot radius within 47 seconds of gulping it down anyway baby.

You see where this is going.

I was postpartum, unshowered and resentful. All I could picture was Luc in his spotless business casuals, striding through the airport, talking to grown-ups, reading a book or watching a movie uninterrupted on the flight and arriving at his hotel.

Aaaaah! The hotel room! The holy grail of the bitter, left-behind, spit-up-wiping mom. Where the bathroom is always clean and the seat is always down. Where the beds magically make themselves and there are more pillows than heads to lay on them. The fluffy robe. The remote in your hand. Room service just waiting to be summoned. And the silence. The blessed, blessed silence.

Oh yes, and the being alone. No spouse. No children. No need to talk. No need to respond to anything or anyone. Heaven.

(Did it matter that many of his trips were to remote, isolated outposts? With very little to do outside of work hours? Pretty dull when you get right down to it? Nope. Not to me. Totally beside the point.)

There was a period of several years when Luc didn’t have to travel for business. Then, out of the blue last year, he was off to Washington for a week. Thankfully I was way past postpartum. I manage to bathe on a regular basis. And I’m only resentful when it’s well deserved.

I thought I handled Washington pretty well if I do say so myself. Even went along with him staying the extra weekend so he could get in a couple of days of sight-seeing, since this was likely a once-in-a-lifetime trip. But, I’ll admit, simmering in the back of my mind was a little pot of envy. The call of a hotel room and a week to myself.

Luc’s in Chicago right now. Two days of sightseeing, then a five-day conference.

So far, the kids and I have fit in their kung fu and gymnastics lessons. We ordered in pizza and had a movie night. We went shopping for spring clothes and shoes because finally, finally, the snow is starting to melt. We had cookies and a latte at Starbucks. Bought a new video game. Had dinner at the neighbours’. Built a most impressive Lego city across the entire living room floor. Stayed in our PJs until noon. They’ve been fantastic and we’re having a great time just the three of us.

This morning we Skyped with Luc. He turned the laptop around at one point to show us his hotel room. He said he’d rather be home with us.

We’d rather have him home too. But there’s still a tiny part of me that wishes, just once, that I were there.

Here’s what Luc has to say about business trips.

14 thoughts on “Having a great time, wish I were there!

  1. […] what Jen had to say about business […]

  2. Luc says:

    So…there is no way I’m going to be the good guy here n’est-ce pas? Ah well.

    • I don’t blame you, sweetie. I blame the fact that your job sometimes requires travel and mine inherently does not. There’s just not much call for me to go jetting off to exciting international destinations to debate the use of the serial comma or whether “the Department” should be capitalized in internal documents.

  3. Oh, I know too well about these business trips! My husband has to travel a lot for work and I am always envious!

  4. Lynn says:

    Ha! “The holy grail of the bitter, left-behind mom…” SO TRUE. My husband has very, very rarely had to travel for work – maybe two or three times in 10 years – but that does not lessen the bitter, no, no it does not.

    It sounds to me like you have earned yourself a girls’ weekend away. 🙂

  5. But he’s in Chicago — a perfect place to scout out of vacation for you and the kids! (But in the summer when it’s much much warmer than now!). 🙂

  6. I never have to travel for work. My wife, on the other hand, does occasionally. She often goes to interesting places. I am happy for her when these opportunities come up but also jealous. It’s not so much the places she is going to (doesn’t do the sight seeing thing) but the quiet, sleeping till the actual alarm clock goes off sort of thing.

    • Ah yes! The alarm clock! I’ve got one of those. Of course, I haven’t had to set it for the past 10 years since both kids are EARLY risers. Even better than waking to the alarm clock: waking up on my own, naturally. Ahhh!

  7. Early risers – I hear that. I did not get to sleep till 6 either day this weekend. Little stinkers!

  8. […] few years ago, when we were still MeWomanYouMan and MeManYouWoman, Luc and I wrote about business […]

Leave a Reply

