I am NOT a technophobe!

Don’t believe Luc when he tells you I’m afraid of new technologies. I just see a very clear distinction between good technology and technology that I have neither the brain cells to care about nor the will power to learn about.

Good Technology: Keyless entry for my minivan

With its little “beep-beep” this handy gadget has saved me countless hours of wandering around parking lots looking for my vehicle because I can’t for the life of me remember where I parked.

Pointless Technology: Programmable coffee makers

I have no idea what time the kids are going to wake me up. Probably sometime between 5:30 and 7 a.m. Then again they might sleep until 8 (it could happen!) I also may or may not remember to take my thyroid medication upon waking and I’m not supposed to eat or drink anything for 30 minutes to an hour after taking it. Which would leave me programming the coffee pot to start brewing sometime between 6 and 8:30 a.m. depending on the morning. So yeah, having anything beyond an ON/OFF button on my machine is really pretty pointless.

Good Technology: PVRs

This is a very new one for me–as in we just got a PVR last week! And no, it wasn’t because I didn’t want one or because I was afraid of this highly advanced TV-taping technology (seriously, it’s a glorified VCR and I had one of those for years). It was peer pressure pure and simple. All of my friends had one, so I wanted one. Kidding. Our Rogers box died and we needed to get a new one and they threw in a PVR because we’re such wonderful customers. For 7 days, I’ve been taping every show I’ve ever wanted to watch! Now I just have to figure out how to play them back…

Frustrating Technology: Changes in music media

When I was a kid, I joined the Columbia Record Club over and over again for that awesome “Get 11 records for 1 cent” deal. That was back when records were the only option. Once my collection was close to complete, I was told tapes were the way to go. So I joined again and started replacing all of my vinyl. Before I could blink, the world had moved on to CDs. I held out as long as I could. Finally I switched. Sometime after that Luc bought an MP3 player. I’m still not sure how that worked or what purpose it served. Now we get all of our music off iTunes and listen to it through the computer speakers while my records, tapes, CDs (and that odd little MP3 player) collect dust. Yes, it’s quick and easy and cheap and, compared to Columbia House, you don’t have to worry about mailing back a little form every month to avoid being sent and having to pay for an album you didn’t want in the first place. But I’m sure once we have every song we’d ever want downloaded from iTunes, they’ll come up with some other format and we’ll have to switch yet again.

Good Technology/Bad Technology: Gaming systems

I’m not sure if our Wii, PlayStation, X-Box and 3DS (dear god, do we really have them all?!) are good technologies with bad tendencies, or evil technologies with benefits. I love, love, love when the kids are happily kicking each other’s butts at tennis, baseball, bowling or some other Wii sport. I thoroughly enjoy the spirit of competition that kicks in when they compete on the PlayStation or X-Box. I’m happy to let the boy play his 3Ds if it buys me some blog-reading time. But do I like the “Please Mommy, just five more minutes” every five minutes? Or the glassy-eyed stares that fix on their faces as they spend yet more precious minutes of their childhood staring at screens? Not necessarily. So I’m gonna have to say, the Jen Jury is still out on this one.

Check out Luc’s thoughts on technology.

Leave a Reply

