Top 5 Places I’d Love to Visit (if money weren’t an issue…)

Luc and the kids and I just got back from our first BIG FAMILY VACATION.

Three guesses where we went.

OK, yes, it was Disney World.

The thing about Disney is that you either love it or hate it. It’s either a magical place you visited as a kid that you enjoyed so much you absolutely have to share this unforgettable experience with your own kids (that would be me) or a scary animatronics freak show where they track your every move with biometrics and practice mind control through piped-in music (that would be Luc). More to come on our Disney vacation in a upcoming post…

Just getting back from vacation has gotten Luc and I thinking about where our next vacation might be. We even pulled out the atlas this morning and started dreaming big.

Jobs, vacation days and costs aside, here are the top 5 places I’d love to visit:

  1. Machu Picchu: I’ve seen a number of documentaries on this 15th-century Inca site in the mountains of Peru, and am fascinated by it. I know its very existence is threatened by the number of tourists who are drawn to it every year and that I’d only be adding to the problem by going on my own pilgrimage there, but there’s just something incredibly magical about it. Not Disney magical. Sacred, overwhelmingly beautiful, find-your-purpose-in-life magical.
  2. Maldives: One day last year, we received a glitzy travel magazine in the newspaper. One of those thick, beautifully bound, glossy promos full of gorgeous photos of places I’ve never heard of. Oh yes, and no prices (if you have to ask, you can’t afford to go). One of the places I was drawn to was the Maldive Islands (based purely on the photos of impossibly white sand beaches, painfully turquoise waters, luxury villas built on stilts and breathtaking coral reefs…and not at all on any knowledge of it as an actual functioning country). I even had to Google it to find out where it was (Indian Ocean, south of Sri Lanka). Then I found this spa in Maldives which clinched the deal. The minute I win the lottery I am SO going THERE.
  3. Greece: If ever I get to Greece, I’ll probably need a month or two to see everything I want to see there. And I’m thinking this would be the perfect opportunity for a luxury cruise too.  I’ve never been on a cruise, but if I were to take one, a meander through the Greek Isles would be my first choice.
  4. Aruba: My family travelled down South several times when I was a kid (Cuba, Dominican Republic, St. Maarten…oh yes, and Disney World when I was 9…that’s what started all of this!). I remember poring over travel brochures and dreaming about the warm weather resorts we would visit during those cold Canadian winters. For whatever reason, Aruba was always my favourite. Maybe because it’s got the most number of sunny days per year of any Caribbean island (I like sun). Maybe because it has some of the top-rated beaches in the world (I like beaches). Maybe because it was always just a little more exotic (and just a little more expensive) than any of the places we ever ended up (I like exotic and expensive). In any case, I still think for a down-south-all-inclusive-kick-back-and-read-a-book-on-the-beach vacation, Aruba would be it for me.
  5. France: This one’s a bit of a cheat, because I’ve already been there. But it’s been a full 25 years since I vowed I’d go back again and it has yet to happen. France felt so much like home to me (more than anywhere I’ve ever visited) that I know I’ll see it again one day.

Part of me believes that there are too many amazing places in the world to visit to waste time going back to the same place again. That’s why we’re telling the kids Disney World was a one-shot deal. Just don’t tell them I’m planning to go back to France. Or that I’ve been to Ireland twice. And Cuba twice. Oh yes, and Mexico four times. Oh never mind!

Check out the top 5 places Luc would like to visit.

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Places I’d Love to Visit (if money weren’t an issue…)

  1. That spa in Maldives does look heavenly! Greece is also on my bucket list. My desire to travel to places is fueled by food and I absolutely love Greek cuisine!

  2. Lynn says:

    These all sound so lovely. I never was much of a traveler, but the older I get the more I find I am interested in going places. Right now we are really focusing on trips to take with the kids – I had an alarming moment a year or so ago when I realized that our oldest will likely only be interested (and able, due to summer jobs) in the Big Family Vacation for perhaps another six or seven years. Assuming we can scrape up enough money for a holiday every other year, that’s three more family vacations, maybe four tops. EEP – with so many wonderful places to take them, it seems so small!

    So we got super organized, and actually planned out our trips for the next six or seven years – PEI, The Rockies, New York City, Washington. After that…I’ll have to start dreaming of a new list!

  3. Joyce says:

    I’m with Melissa…the spa in Maldives looks amazing! I also really want to go to France. Actually, all of your selections look amazing. I haven’t been outside of the country, except to Canada, and I don’t really count that anymore.

  4. Elle says:

    I wanted to go to the Maldives on my honeymoon, but hubby wasn’t too interested. We went to Saipan. I really loved it there. I’d love to go to Greece as well.

    Glad to have been directed to your blog by “Free but Fun” http://freebutfun.wordpress.com/2013/11/07/awards/comment-page-1/#comment-665

Leave a Reply

