If I Had a Million Dollars…

Actually, for the sake of argument, let’s say $30 million.

Luc and I love the lottery. Any lottery. We’re part of a group of friends on our street that buys weekly Lotto Max tickets. We pick up Cash for Life scratch tickets at the grocery store on a regular basis. We’ve purchased a Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario Dream of a Lifetime ticket every year since we started dating.

Do we ever win? Sometimes. A free ticket here, $10 there. Once we even won a $250 Farm Boy gift card in the CHEO lottery (not the $1.7-million grand prize, including a fully furnished dream home, extra spending money, a car, groceries and house cleaning services for a year, mind you, but exciting nonetheless).

But do we fantasize about winning? ALL THE TIME.

Especially when we’re stuck in the car together for the 8-hour drive to visit my dad and his wife. Cuz once the kids are settled in with their headphones, video games and DVDs, there’s not much else to do than have a deep and serious discussion about the important things in life. Like what we’d do if we won the lottery.

Thirty million dollars seemed like a good amount to work with and so we started dreaming…

Luc and I were in agreement on several issues, immediately quitting our jobs being one of them. But what about the details? Here, in no particular order, is what I would do with $30 million.

  • Take a good chunk of it, say $10 million, and give it to the aforementioned CHEO. No, not to buy up every Dream Home lottery ticket thus guaranteeing a win (hmmm…) but to say thanks. Because if it weren’t for CHEO, my children would not be alive today. Yes, I’m prone to exaggeration, but not in this case. Between The Boy’s severe asthma (which has had him to the point of barely breathing on more than one occasion) and The Girl’s being admitted in a state of diabetic ketoacidosis when she was 6, I would be minus two kids if not for this amazing hospital. You can’t put a price on your children’s lives. But yep. At least $10 million to CHEO.
  • Try to be responsible and invest another $10 million for the future. I’d hate to be one of those people who show up on “The Lottery Ruined My Life.” It’s millions of dollars people! There’s no way you should end up broke and living on the street!
  • Treat my nearest and dearest friends and family. Car payments? Covered. Mortgages? Paid. Student loans? Gone. Oh, and by the way, we’re all going to Mexico. On us. Yes, I know Revenue Canada may have something to say about that, but that’s what a good financial advisor is for.
  • Max out the kids’ RESPs. Of course, they don’t need to know this. And they’ll still be required to work summer jobs to help pay for their education because they need to understand the value of money and the satisfaction that comes from working hard and saving for a long-term investment in their own future. But in the end? Surprise! Their education is fully paid for and they’ve got money in the bank!
  • All those places I want to travel to? I’m there.
  • Redecorate the entire house from top to bottom. No more living with paint colours I don’t totally love. Or furniture that doesn’t quite match. Or a kitchen that could get by with a facelift but really requires an overhaul. I’d tackle this sucker one room at a time, until the place looked like something straight out of Style At Home magazine.
  • Get a pedicure. I’m seriously overdue for a pedicure.

Check out what Luc would do with $30 million.

 

6 thoughts on “If I Had a Million Dollars…

  1. freebutfun says:

    Would you really not want to work at all any more? Idt take an extended holiday and i mighy want to do a shorter work week but work just gives me so many other things (eg after 3 years at home with kids it was lovely to usr my brain a bit) that I’d definitely want to keep on working!

    • Maybe we should have been more specific…we’d stop working for anyone else! I would dedicate my time to writing and possibly starting up a home organizing business. And Luc would likely be found helping out on home remodelling projects somewhere…anything to get away from a desk job!

  2. freebutfun says:

    But good on you on getting a pedicure!

  3. Lynn says:

    Fantastic list! I could also use a pedicure :). And man, my house would look amazing – I might even hire a full time handyman and painted like Eldon on Murphy Brown. And a gardener too :).

    I would add to this list that I’d buy a lot of really great art. Actual art created by actual artists, not just prints from HomeSense. It’s a dream…

Leave a Reply

