My New Year’s Non-Resolution

Happy Almost New Year everyone!

This year, instead of making New Year’s resolutions, I’m going to try a different challenge every month. Two reasons:

  1. I’m pretty much certain that after 44 years of experience, I lack the resolve to do anything for an entire year, let alone the rest of my life (hello exercise and eating well), and
  2. I like a good challenge. Especially if it involves charts. Or checklists. Or points. Ooh! Points!

So for January, I’m going to do an “Eat through the freezer and pantry” challenge. I made a sad attempt at this last summer. I think it lasted until we ran out of milk. And much of the food that was in my freezer and pantry back then is still there now, buried in ice or pushed back into the darkness by weekly grocery runs for food I either already have (but can’t find) or don’t need (because I already have it but can’t find it) or end up throwing out (because by the time I find what I already have, it’s expired or freezer-burnt beyond recognition).

I got the idea from several sites, including Good Cheap Eats and Keeper of the Home. And I like that it has several benefits, including:

  • Using up food that would otherwise go to waste.
  • Saving money.
  • Forcing me to become more conscious of what I buy and how I (do or don’t) use it.

I’m also hoping that making a concerted effort to eat through the freezer and pantry in January will lead to clean, neatly organized shelves and a clean, defrosted freezer. Something we haven’t seen since we bought the house. In 1999.

As for the coming months, I haven’t decided which challenges will happen when. But I can guarantee there will be decluttering. There will be me time. And yes, there will be exercise and eating well.

If you have any suggestions for a month-long challenge, let me know. And I’ll keep you posted on my progress along the way.

Here’s to 2015!

And here are Luc’s thoughts on New Year’s resolutions.

3 thoughts on “My New Year’s Non-Resolution

  1. momocular says:

    I love this idea! I dug through the freezer last night trying to find bacon and about 13 other things fell out. Time to eat them.
    Great post–thanks for the challenge. Looking forward to reading more.

  2. Lynn says:

    LOVE this idea. I am TOTALLY doing this.

Leave a Reply

