Just Get On the Damn Treadmill Already

Did I mention I hate exercising?

I know if I exercise, I’ll feel better. Be healthier. Maybe lose a little weight. Fend off a disease or two.

But I hate it. Even just the idea of it.

I hate team sports. I hate individual sports. I’m naturally lazy, unnaturally inflexible, and sweat (my own or anyone else’s) disgusts me.

Over the years, I’ve dabbled in classes. Aerobics. Tai chi. Kickboxing. At least those had a social element to them that I enjoyed. But I never stuck with any of them.

I’ve also tried joining a gym. More than once. Again, fun for a bit, but not anything I wanted to pursue beyond a few weeks. I got more out of the signing bonus the last time I joined (a massage and a free gym bag) than I did out of the facility itself.

But I’m 44. I’ve got aches and pains and am carrying a little too much weight around my middle. I’ve got horrible genes on both sides of the family. Last year I underwent a slew of cardiovascular tests for unexplained chest pains. And I’m quickly approaching the age my mom was when she was diagnosed with the cancer that killed her.

Really, do I need any more reasons to get off my lazy butt?

About the only exercise I actually get any sort of enjoyment out of is walking.

I like that I can walk alone or with a friend. That I can enjoy some silence or have a chat. I like the steady rhythm and the need for no more equipment than a pair of shoes. I like that for a non-outdoorsy person, it actually gets me outdoors.

I know that Luc doesn’t consider walking to be “real” exercise. He’d like us to run together. And while I appreciate that he wants to do something active with me, he sees walking as too tame and a waste of time for him, and I see running as involving way too much bouncing, panting and sweating for me.

And so I’ll walk.

This isn’t a New Year’s resolution. Nor is it some life-defining moment. It’s not a complete change of lifestyle; it’s just the simple acknowledgement of something else that needs to get done on a regular basis, like washing the dishes or scrubbing the toilets.

I’ll head outside. I’ll go for a walk. And if it’s too hot, too cold, too early, too late, too wet, too icy, too windy, too dark or a million other reasons not to go outside, I’ll just get on the damn treadmill. I may never love it, just like I’ll never love folding laundry or changing the furnace filter. But I’ll do it.

Check out Luc’s thoughts on exercise.

6 thoughts on “Just Get On the Damn Treadmill Already

  1. chadmp says:

    Hopefully one day you find something you enjoy! Maybe swimming?

    • I do actually like swimming…it’s one of the reasons I tried the gym (they had a great pool). But then winter hits…and it’s -30 Celsius outside…and I just don’t feel like getting my hair wet and then having it turn to icicles…I’m more of a white sandy Caribbean beach swimmer!

  2. Lynn says:

    Ugh, so true – I find it so hard to just make the leap to getting UP and getting OUT. I love a good walk too – but there always seems to be so many really, really good reasons to do something else. Netflix is not going to watch itself!

    I got a FitBit last year and actually I quite like it. It’s kind of a fun little device to wear and see how many steps you got in today. I don’t find it nagging or annoying – I’m not “friends” with anyone on their site so it’s just about my own curiousity, and it’s kind of gently encouraging. I recommend!

  3. Joyce says:

    Good luck on finding what works for you! I was never an athlete by any measure, but at this stage in my life I have suddenly found myself loving being active. My secret is a good podcast. I’m partial to This American Life – if I listen to that it’s a guaranteed one hour workout!

  4. […] I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I hate exercise. Unless swimming up to a swim-up bar for a margarita […]

Leave a Reply

